Exceptional Children

Group of diverse students around a table with their teacher learning about countries.

DIRECTOR :: Dr. Carol Ann M. Hudgens

ASSISTANT DIRECTOR :: Nicole R. Sinclair

DIVISION MISSION :: The mission of the Office of Exceptional Children is to ensure that students with disabilities develop intellectually, physically, emotionally, and vocationally through the provision of an appropriate individualized education program in the least restrictive environment.

Equity In Excellence EC Division Strategic Plan

EC Phone List

EC Regional Staff List

Hot Topics

NC IDEA Grant Application

The North Carolina Department of Public Instruction (NCDPI) is making available its annual State Application for receiving grant award under Part B with the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA) as amended in 2004.

NC IDEA Part B Application FFY23

Interested citizens may submit comments via e-mail to IDEA Grant or mail to: NCDPI, Office of Exceptional Children, ATTN: Nicole Sinclair/ 6356 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-6356.

Dispute Resolution Resources


Tab/Accordion Items

Alamance-Burlington Lessley Saenz-Mader 336.438.4000 x20089
Alexander County Jessica Anderson 828.632.7001
Alleghany County Melissa Fitzgerald 336.372.4345
Anson County Lynn Gardelle 704.694.4417
Ashe County Terry Richardson 336.846.3221
Avery County Megan Pollard 828.733.6006
Beaufort County Kimberly Gibbs 252.946.6593
Bertie County Karen Branch 252.794.2260
Bladen County Cheryl White-Smith (Interim) 910.862.4136
Brunswick County Melissa Quinlan 910.253.1059
Buncombe County Amy Dupree 828.255.5971
Asheville City Schools Sarah Cain 828.350.6128
Burke County Desarae Kirkpatrick 828.439.4331
Cabarrus County Angela Fitzwater 704.260.5775
Kannapolis City Bonnie West 704.938.3151
Caldwell County Robert Semple 828.728.8407
Camden County Monique Hicks 252.335.0831
Carteret County Anita Boyd 252.728.4583
Caswell County Nelson Showalter 336.694.4116
Catawba County Amy Wilson 828.464.8333
Hickory Public Schools Chanda Stokes 828.322.2855
Newton-Conover City Keisha Pritchard 828.464.3191
Chatham County Sara Self-Maddox 919.548.0472
Cherokee County Anne Boring 828.837.0945
Edenton/ Chowan Lori Heginbotham (Interim) 252.482.4436
Clay County Angel Owens 828.389.8513
Cleveland County Wendy Fitch 704.476.8063
Columbus County Eddie Beck 910.642.5168 x24016
Whiteville City Schools Julie Graves 910.641.6448
Craven County Eleanor Patrick 252.514.4455
Cumberland County Pamela Adams 910.678.2440
Currituck County Jamie Miller 252.232.2223
Dare County Reida Roberts 242.480.8888
Davidson County Ceretha Mitchell 336.242.5508
Lexington City Schools Ray Horton 336.242.1527 x1213
Thomasville City Schools Shamela Flowers  336.474.4200
Davie County Jennifer Custer 336.751.2491
Duplin County Susan Smith 910.296.1521
Durham County Kristin Bell 919.560.3774
Edgecombe County Meagan Sykes 252.641.2600
Winston-Salem/ Forsyth Tammy Norwood 336.727.2083
Franklin County Windy Edwards 919.496.2457
Gaston County Stacy Huffman 704.866.6160
Gates County Carledia Dozier 252.357.3315
Graham County Kristy Cable 828.479.9820
Granville County Suzanne Cotterman 919.693.1103
Greene County Jennifer Gardner 252.747.3425
Guilford County Kimberly Steinke 336.370.2323
Halifax County Sharon Richardson 252.583.5111
Roanoke Rapids Schools Tess Yeatts 252.519.7128
Weldon City Schools Benita Fields 252.536.4821
Harnett County April Hood 910.814.3457
Haywood County Brandi Stephenson 828.456.2400 x2125
Henderson County Jennifer Shelton 828.697.4566
Hertford County Jorgette Williams 252.358.1761
Hoke County Cariss McLeod 910.875.8009
Hyde County Karen Hutson 252.926.3281
Iredell-Statesville Rhonda McClenahan 704.873.9432
Mooresville Graded Schools Sandra Albert 704.658.2603
Jackson County Kelly Doppke 828.586.2311
Johnston County Christina Robinson 919.934.7325 x1018
Jones County Laura Parks 252.448.2531
Lee County Anne Sessoms 919.774.6226
Lenoir County Vivian Roach 252.527.1109
Lincoln County Kimberly Davis 704.736.1017
Macon County Brooke Keener 828.524.3314
Madison County Marshay Huskins 828.649.9276
Martin County Lisa Bowen 252.792.1575
McDowell County Amanda Worley 828.652.6580
Charlotte/ Mecklenburg Dr. Heather Lemmons 980.343.6960
Mitchell County Terri Hefner-Scott 828.766.3475
Montgomery County Clarkie Hussey 910.576.6511
Moore County Marcy Cooper 910.947.2342
Nash-Rocky Mount Christy Grant 252.459.5220 x640693
New Hanover County Joanna Souza 910.254.4445
Northampton County Dr. Shirley Vinson (Interim) 252.534.1371 x227
Onslow County Misty Williams 910.455.2211
Orange County Connie Crimmins 919.732.8126
Chapel Hill- Carrboro City Mary Todd Allen (Interim) 919.967.8211 x28203
Pamlico County Bettie Davis 252.745.4171 x632
Elizabeth City/ Pasquotank Jamie Liverman 252.338.1017 x227
Pender County Melanie McCready 910.259.2187
Perquimans County Kanika Griffin 252.426.5741
Person County Jenna Regan 336.599.2191 x22119
Pitt County Dawn Hester  252.695.7989
Polk County Toni Haley 828.894.3051
Randolph County Heather Cox (Interim) 336.633.5060
Asheboro City Schools Tracie Ross 336.625.5104 x241100
Richmond County Dana Mintmier 910.582.5860
Robeson County Latonya Burney 910.735.2220
Rockingham County Pam Watkins 336.627.2661
Rowan-Salisbury Schools Elizabeth Mitcham 704.216.7332
Rutherford County Michelle Alcorn 828.288.2351
Sampson County Alicia Brophy-Dick 910.592.1401
Clinton City Schools Emily Pope 910.592.3132
Scotland County Brenda Coronato 910.276.1138
Stanly County Laura Holland 704.961.5301
Stokes County Lisa LaMonica 336.536.9010 x1747
Surry County Amber Flippen 336.386.8211
Elkin City Schools Tracee McManus 336.835.3135
Mount Airy City Schools Scott Dollyhite 336.786.8355
Swain County Brandon Sutton 828.488.3129 x5129
Transylvania County Tonya James 828.884.6173
Tyrrell County Jennifer Mason 252.796.1121
Union County Laura Beachum 704.296.6377
Vance County Natashalyn Snipes 252.492.2127
Wake County Jill McKenna 919.858.3149
Warren County Shana P. Brown 252.257.3184 x1237
Washington County Michele Brickhouse 252.793.5171 x243
Watauga County Jana Dobbins 828.264.7190
Wayne County Sonja Emerson 919.705.6027
Wilkes County Jennifer Blankenship 336.651.7084
Wilson County Melissa McFatter 252.399.7780 x8648
Yadkin County Rhonda Cleary 336.679.2051
Yancey County Margie Stebbeds 828.682.6101
Juvenile Justice Kenya Beyah 919.374.6374
DHHS Kimberly Kennedy 919.855.4713

Licensure FAQ

License Requirements for EC Administrators Memo

Licensure Guidance Tool Memo

Fall 2014 PANC Charts

School Psychology Licensure Parameters Materials

This archived webinar is intended to provide clarification of NC licensure requirements and the parameters that exist for school psychologists in their practice. Please note, the information is specific to practice within the state of North Carolina. Across the country, states vary in what is considered permissible practice for those credentialed by a State Education Agency in the area of School Psychology. These variances occur as a result of how the laws that guide the practice of psychology are written from state to state. School Psychology Licensure Parameters