Office of Early Learning (OEL)

Young children in class

Early Learning Vision

OEL will Collaborate, Advocate, and Support in order to provide an equitable and responsive system of support to ensure North Carolina's children and families are successful contributors in school and life.

Early Learning Mission

The mission of OEL is to support educators, children, and families through collaboration and advocacy in order to positively impact educational outcomes. 

Contact Us

Tab/Accordion Items

 

TITLE

NAME EMAIL ADDRESS PHONE #

Northeast Literacy 

Karen Wood karen.wood@dpi.nc.gov 984-236-2752
Southeast Literacy Candace Heath candace.heath@dpi.nc.gov 984-236-2865
North Central Literacy Jessica Vaughan jessica.l.vaughan@dpi.nc.gov 781-248-7065
Sandhills Literacy Hope Lechthaler rachel.lechthaler@dpi.nc.gov  
Piedmont-Triad Literacy Cameron Ammann cameron.ammann@dpi.nc.gov 704-562-5481
Northwest Literacy Cynthia Barber cynthia.barber@dpi.nc.gov 336-406-0847
Southwest Literacy Crystal Merck crystal.merck@dpi.nc.gov 704-213-2816
Western Literacy Carrie Bruns carrie.allen@dpi.nc.gov 828-713-2064
Early Learning Donna Albaugh donna.albaugh@dpi.nc.gov 910-476-7218
Early Learning Sarah Morrison sarah.morrison@dpi.nc.gov 704-473-1737
Charter Schools Leslie Simmons leslie.simmons@dpi.nc.gov 984-236-2876

 

TITLE NAME EMAIL ADDRESS PHONE #
Office of Early Learning Senior Director Amy Rhyne amy.rhyne@dpi.nc.gov 984-236-2744
Assistant Director of Early Learning Dan Tetreault dan.tetreault@dpi.nc.gov 984-236-2749
Assistant Director of Early Literacy Kelley Bendheim kelley.bendheim@dpi.nc.gov 984-236-2866
RtA Charter Coordinator Tonia Parrish tonia.parrish@dpi.nc.gov 984-236-2864
NC Head Start Collaboration Director Macy Jones macy.jones@dpi.nc.gov 919-795-9473
Communications Coordinator Melissa Strickland melissa.strickland@dpi.nc.gov 252-578-9452
Early Learning Coordinator Jessica Fitzgerald jessica.fitzgerald@dpi.nc.gov 828-514-9248
Early Literacy Coordinator Mary Derfel mary.derfel@dpi.nc.gov 336-255-4761
Data Coordinator Thomas (Tad) Merritt thomas.merritt@dpi.nc.gov 984-236-2867

 

TITLE NAME EMAIL ADDRESS PHONE #
NC Literacy Facilitator Piedmont-Triad Shonette Lewis shonette.lewis@dpi.nc.gov 336-972-2518
NC Literacy Facilitator North Central VACANT    
NC Literacy Facilitator Northwest Rebecca Lindgren rebecca.lindgren@dpi.nc.gov 970-219-6207
NC Literacy Facilitator Western Kristin Fletcher kristin.dillon@dpi.nc.gov 828-206-0009
NC Literacy Facilitator Sandhills Karen Koonce karen.koonce@dpi.nc.gov 910-237-9840
NC Literacy Facilitator Southwest Lashon Lee lashon.lee@dpi.nc.gov 704-881-1509
NC Literacy Facilitator Southeast Jennifer Havens jennifer.havens@dpi.nc.gov 910-352-8702
NC Literacy Facilitator Northeast Christina Shrock christina.shrock@dpi.nc.gov 252-903-2421