School Performance Grade Redesign

This work around School Performance Grade Redesign harkens back to Operation Polaris, which is Superintendent Truitt’s four-year strategic plan aimed at improving outcomes for all North Carolina public schools post-pandemic. The Office of Innovation is leading the work to redesign school performance grades and has embarked on a process to discover how the current school performance formula could be changed to include a comprehensive list of indicators that can help paint a more complete picture of school quality.

In the months ahead, the Testing and Accountability Working Group within Operation Polaris will work with a diverse group of stakeholders to conduct research, engage in conversation, and solicit input on how school performance grades could include additional metrics, factors, and indicators that make North Carolina’s schools excellent and help ​the 1.5 million students thrive.

Relevant information will be posted on this page to ensure partners and community members are abreast of the work. Join us in this endeavor!

Read About the Work

Tab/Accordion Items

Name Affiliate
Amy Galey Senator
Ashton Clemmons State Representative/ Greensboro
Brenda Berg Best NC
Bruce Mack NC Community Colleges
Dr. Levy Brown NC Community Colleges
David Willis State Representative
Debra Derr NC Chamber
Diana Lys UNC Chapel Hill, Assistant Dean
Don Phipps Caldwell Schools, Superintendent
Edward McFarland Wake County, CAO
Frank Barnes Charlotte/ Mech Schools, Dep Super
Geoff Coltrane Education Advisor to the Governor
Jessica Swencki My Future NC
Jill Camnitz SBE
John Marshall Union Academy Charter
Jordan Whichard NC Dept of Commerce
Leah Carper Guilford County Schools
Lynn Moody Consultant
Michael Sasscer Edenton-Chowan Schools, Superintendent
Nick King Johnston County, CAO
Patrick Greene Greene County Schools, Principal
Travis Reeves Surry County, Superintendent
Andrew Smith NCDPI
Angie Mullennix NCDPI
Ashley Baquero NCDPI
Catherine Truitt NCDPI
Jeni Corn NCDPI
Jeremy Gibbs NCDPI
Kristi Day NCDPI
Kristie VanAuken NCDPI
Marie Pitre-Martin NCDPI
Michael Maher NCDPI
Shelby Armentrout NCDPI
Sherry Thomas NCDPI
Sneha Shah Coltrane NCDPI
Tammy Howard NCDPI
Tom Tomberlin NCDPI
Trey Michael NCDPI