Purple Star Award

Purple Star Schools Logo

North Carolina is home to a large population of active duty, guard, reserve, and veteran armed services members, and the state’s public schools reflect that. In 2019, The North Carolina Department of Public Instruction launched the Purple Star Award Designation initiative to recognize the state’s strong military presence and its support for military families. The Purple Star designation is awarded to schools that demonstrate military-friendly practices and a commitment to military students and families.

From District Superintendents:

“Understanding that military-connected students and families transition on average 6-9 times in a military child's academic career, our school system takes pride in providing resources for them to ensure that their needs are met and that we provide every flexibility possible to ensure they have a smooth transition. Cumberland County Schools' designation as a Purple Star District confirms that we are doing the right and necessary work to ensure that military-connected families' experience is seamless and that our entire district is viewed as military-friendly.”

--Dr. Marvin Connelly Jr., Superintendent Cumberland County Schools 

“Being a Purple Star School District is one way to show that you are open and welcoming to our military-impacted students and families. We want the PCS process to be positive and we strive and do all we can to remove the burden of changing schools.” 

--Dr. Aaron Fleming, Superintendent Harnett County Schools 


For questions on the application, please email Howard Lattimore.

For other military-related questions, please email Dr. Angie.Mullennix.

For a full list of awarded schools, please visit this link.