Military Interstate Children's Compact Commission

North Carolina is a proud member of the Interstate Compact on Educational Opportunity for Military Children. North Carolina is committed to the education of the children of our military service members while their home is in our state.

The North Carolina State Council for the Interstate Compact on Educational Opportunity for Military Children (state council) was formed to support easing transitions for children of military families as they move between states due to their sponsor’s military service. Frequent moves and deployments are hallmarks of the last decade and more of service in our nation’s military.

North Carolina was the 11th state signatory of the Interstate Compact as it entered into the compact on August 7, 2008.

North Carolina State Council

According to §115C-407.5 Article VIII of North Carolina Statute, the state council is composed of a compact commissioner appointed by the governor, the state Superintendent of Public Instruction, a superintendent of a school district with a high concentration of military-connected children, a representative from a military installation, a representative from the House of Representatives, a representative from the Senate. Additionally, a military family education liaison as well as other members may be added to the council with the approval of the council.

Council Members

  • Mrs. Catherine Truitt, Superintendent of Public Instruction – Angie Mullennix (Superintendent’s Designee)
  • Mr. Nickolas Sojka, Commissioner (Executive Branch Appointment)
  • Mr. Donnie Loftis, Chairman (Senate Appointment)
  • Rep. Erin Pare (House of Representatives Appointment)
  • Dr. Aaron Fleming, Superintendent, Harnett County Schools
  • Jamie Livengood, Student & Family Support Coordinator, Wayne County Public Schools
  • Mr. Bill Lanier, Member of the Onslow County Board of Education (NC School Boards Association Representative)

Other Organizations that typically attend and support the state council are:

  • Mrs. Shevelle Godwin & Mrs. Iris Pierce, Fort Liberty School Liaison Office
  • Mrs. Julie Fulton & Ms. Shannon Washburn, Camp Lejeune School Liaison Office
  • Mrs. Leafa Palmer, MCAS Cherry Point, School Liaison Office
  • Ms. Zakira Rich (Cumberland)
  • Ms. Danielle Merrell (Onslow)
  • Mrs. Valarie Nasser, Craven County Schools, Military Liaison Counselor
  • Ms. Erica Funk (Moore)
  • Ms. Kristi Wagner (NCNG)
  • Mrs. Kelly Jackson, DMVA Family Coordinator
  • Dr. Angie Mullennix, Director of Innovative Practices and Programs / State Liaison
  • Mr. Howard Lattimore, Office of Innovation, State Military Consultant

Council Meetings

The NC Council for the Interstate Commission on Educational Opportunity for Military Children will meet Tuesday, February 20, 2024, from 10:00 a.m. to 12:00 p.m., in the State Board Room, 7th floor, Education Building, 301 N. Wilmington Street, Raleigh. Click here to access the council meeting agenda

For members of the public interested in attending: Please email: to determine next meeting date and location.