Charter Schools Review Board

Given recent legislative action, the former Charter School Advisory Board (CSAB) no longer exists and has become the Charter School Review Board (CSRB).  All current members of CSAB automatically become members of the CSRB.  The officers will remain the same.    

The mission and work of the CSRB basically remains the same – to ensure the existence of high-quality charter schools in the State of North Carolina.  

I am proud of our work and grateful for the countless hours that CSRB board members spend to carry out the mission of ensuring high-quality charter schools in our state.  High-quality charters benefit families and raise the level of academic excellence in North Carolina.

Sincerely,

Bruce Friend
Chair – Charter School Review Board 

Mission Statement

The Charter Schools Review Board works to ensure the existence of high-quality charter schools in North Carolina.

Members

Appointed By First Name Last Name Start Date of Current Term End Date of Current Term Appointment Position Contact
House Bruce Friend 2021 June 30, 2025 SL 2021-131 Chair bruce.friend@dpi.nc.gov
Senate John Eldridge 2021 June 30, 2025 SL 2021-131 Vice Chair john.eldridge@dpi.nc.gov
House Hilda Parlér 2021 June 30, 2025 SL 2021-131   hilda.parler@dpi.nc.gov
House Dave Machado 2022 June 30, 2025 SL 2022-42   dave.machado@dpi.nc.gov
House Shelly Shope 2021 June 30, 2025 SL 2021-131   shelly.bullard@dpi.nc.gov
Senate Bartley Danielsen 2022 June 30, 2025 SL 2022-42   bartley.danielsen@dpi.nc.gov
Senate Rita Haire 2021 June 30, 2025 SL 2021-131   rita.haire@dpi.nc.gov
Senate Todd Godbey 2021 June 30, 2025 SL 2021-131   todd.godbey@dpi.nc.gov
State Board of Education Alex Quigley 2023 June 30, 2027 July 2023 SBE   alex.quigley@dpi.nc.gov
State Board of Education Eric Sanchez 2021 June 30, 2025 August 2021 SBE   eric.sanchez@dpi.nc.gov
Lt. Governor Stephen Gay 2023 December 31, 2025 Lt. Governor   stephen.gay@dpi.nc.gov
Superintendent - (Non-Voting) Alex Granados 2023 June 30, 2025 Superintendent   alex.granados@dpi.nc.gov

Meetings and Minutes

Date  Location  Minutes  Newsletter
Feb. 5-6, 2024 SBE Room   Feb. 7, 2024
Jan. 8, 2024 SBE Room Minutes Jan. 12, 2024
Dec. 11-12, 2023 SBE Room Minutes Dec. 14, 2023
Nov. 6-7, 2023 SBE Room Minutes  Nov. 13, 2023
Oct. 17-18, 2023 SBE Room Minutes Oct. 19, 2023
Sept. 11-12, 2023 SBE Room Minutes Sept. 13, 2023
Aug. 11, 2023 SBE Room Minutes  
June 26, 2023 SBE Room Minutes June 14, 2023
May 8, 2023 SBE Room Minutes May 11, 2023
April 11, 2023 SBE Room Minutes April 18, 2023
Mar. 6, 2023 SBE Room Minutes March 6, 2023
Feb. 6, 2023 SBE Room Minutes February 9, 2023
Jan. 9, 2023 SBE Room Minutes  
Dec. 5-6, 2022 SBE Room Minutes December 12, 2022
Nov. 7-8, 2022 SBE Room Minutes November 15, 2022
Oct. 10, 2022 SBE Room Minutes October 14, 2022
Sept. 12-13, 22 SBE Room Minutes Sept. 15, 2022
June 7, 2022 SBE Room Minutes  
May 26, 2022 Special Called SBE R Minutes  
May 9, 2022 SBE Room Minutes May 13, 2022
Apr. 27, 2022 Special Called SBE R Minutes  
Apr. 11, 2022 SBE Room Minutes April 11, 2022
Mar. 7, 2022 SBE Room Minutes March 7, 2022
Feb. 28, 2022 Special Called SBE R Minutes  
Feb. 7, 2022 SBE Room Minutes February 7, 2022
Jan. 10-11, 2022 SBE Room Minutes January 12, 2022
Dec. 6-7, 2021 SBE Room Minutes December 8, 2021
Nov. 8-9, 2021 SBE Room Minutes November 12, 2021
Oct. 11, 2021 SBE Room Minutes October 12, 2021
Sept. 13-14, 2021 SBE Room Minutes September 14, 2021
June 23, 2021 Special Called SBE R Minutes  
June 7, 2021 SBE Room Minutes June 9, 2021
May 27, 2021 Special Virtual Minutes  
May 10, 2021 Virtual Minutes May 12, 2021
Apr. 22, 2021 Special Virtual Minutes  
Apr. 12, 2021 Virtual Minutes April 13, 2021
Mar. 8, 2021 Virtual Minutes  
Feb. 9, 2021 Virtual Minutes  
Jan. 11-12, 2021 Virtual Minutes January 12, 2021
Dec. 7-8, 2020 Virtual Minutes December 9, 2020
Nov. 9-10, 2020 SBE Room & V Minutes November 19, 2020
Oct. 12-13, 2020 SBE Room & V Minutes October 22, 2020
Sept. 28, 2020 Special Called V Minutes  
Sept. 14-15, 2020 Virtual Minutes  
Aug. 12, 2020 Special Called V Minutes  
July 13, 2020 Virtual Minutes July 13, 2020
July 7, 2020 Special Virtual Minutes  
June 8, 2020 Virtual Minutes June 8, 2020
May 11, 2020 Virtual Minutes May 11, 2020
Apr.  6, 2020 Virtual Minutes  
Mar. 10, 2020 State Board Room Minutes  
Feb.10, 2020 State Board Room Minutes February 10th, 2020
Jan. 13, 2020 State Board Room Minutes January 13th, 2020
Dec. 9-10, 2019 State Board Room Minutes December 9-10, 2019
Nov. 12, 2019 State Board Room Minutes November 12-13, 2019
Oct. 7, 2019 State Board Room Minutes Oct 7-8, 2019
Sept. 9, 2019 State Board Room Minutes Sept 9, 2019
Aug 20, 2019   Minutes  
July 2019 State Board Room Minutes July, 2019
June 10-11, 2019 State Board Room Minutes June 10-11, 2019
May 6-7, 2019 State Board Room Minutes May 6-7, 2019
April 26, 2019   Minutes  
April 8-9, 2019 State Board Room Minutes April 8-9, 2019
March 11-12, 2019 State Board Room Minutes March 11-12, 2019
Feb. 11-12, 2019 State Board Room Minutes Feb. 11-12, 2019
Jan. 14-16, 2019 State Board Room Minutes Jan. 14-16, 2019
Dec. 10-11, 2018 State Board Room Minutes Dec. 12, 2018
Nov. 5-6, 2018 State Board Room Minutes Nov. 5-6, 2018
Oct. 8, 2018 State Board Room Minutes Oct. 8, 2018
Sept. 10, 2018 State Board Room Minutes Sept. 20, 2018
August 2018   Minutes  

 

Archived: Charter Schools Advisory Board Meeting Minutes from October 2013-July 2018. The Charter Schools Advisory Board was formed in October 2013 and reconstituted by the North Carolina General Assembly as the Charter Schools Review Board in August of 2023.