Get Paid for your Military Experience
The Brass to Class Act is a North Carolina law that exclusively benefits veterans teaching K-12. The Act states that “one full year of experience credit shall be awarded for every two years of full-time instructional or leadership duties while on active military duty in the Armed Forces of the United States, regardless of academic degree held while in instruction or leadership roles.”
- Every year of teaching experience credit currently equals a $1,000 pay raise (may vary over time).
- Veterans cannot have been employed by a North Carolina School District in any capacity before July, 1 2014, to qualify for this credit.*
The act is named in honor of Corporal Pruitt Rainey who was killed in action in Afghanistan on July 13, 2008, during the Battle of Wanat. He had planned on returning home to Alamance County to become a Physical Education teacher and Wrestling coach.
What you will need
- DD-214 to verify honorable discharge
- DD-2586 — Verification of Military Experience and Credit (VMET)
- Annual Performance Reports (OER, NCOER, ERP, FITREPS) showing a leadership or instructor position after initial professional military leadership training. (Must be On Active Orders, Part-Time Guard and Reserve status does not qualify)
Required Documents need to be submitted to Employing School District Human Resources Office.
|NC Annual Starting Teacher Pay||$35,000|
|4 years - Military Instructor Experience||+ $2,000|
|8 years - Military Leadership Experience (e.g. Section Sergeant)||+ $4,000|
|Veteran Adjusted Annual Starting Teacher Pay||$41,000|
May increase with local school district supplements*