Committee of Practitioners (COP)

From SEC. 1603. [20 U.S.C. 6573] STATE ADMINISTRATION of Programs authorized under the Elementary and Secondary Education Act of 1965 as reauthorized under the Every Student Succeeds Act

    Each State educational agency that receives funds under this title shall create a State committee of practitioners to advise the State in carrying out its responsibilities under this title.

    Each such committee shall include —
    1. as a majority of its members, representatives from local educational agencies;
    2. administrators, including the administrators of programs described in other parts of this title;
    3. teachers from traditional public schools and charter schools (if there are charter schools in the State) and career and technical educators;
    4. principals and other school leaders;
    5. parents;
    6. members of local school boards;
    7. representatives of private school children;
    8. specialized instructional support personnel and paraprofessionals;
    9. representatives of authorized public chartering agencies (if there are charter schools in the State); and
    10. charter school leaders (if there are charter schools in the State).
    The duties of such committee shall include a review, before publication, of any proposed or final State rule or regulation pursuant to this title. In an emergency situation where such rule or regulation must be issued within a very limited time to assist local educational agencies with the operation of the program under this title, the State educational agency may issue a regulation without prior consultation, but shall immediately thereafter convene the State committee of practitioners to review the emergency regulation before issuance in final form.

ESSA COP Orientation Meeting Scheduled.
There will be an orientation meeting for the newly constituted ESSA COP on May 15, 2019 from 10:00 AM to 2:00 PM in the 7th Floor Board Room, Education Building, 301 N. Wilmington Street, Raleigh, NC 27601. The members of this committee were appointed by the State Board of Education at its meeting on April 4, 2019 and the members will officially assume office July 1, 2019. COP members serve as advisors to the State Board of Education on matters regarding the Every Student Succeeds Act and is made up of educators at the school and district level, local school board members, charter and non-public schools and parents who have shown a demonstrated commitment to public education.

State Board Policy

COP Members

Northwest Piedmont-Triad North Central Northeast
Melessa Widener
Amber D. Faw
Dr. David Rizor
Emily Lipe
Terry Brown
Maria Gomez
Carol Little
TiTilayo Somorin
Caitlin Terranova
Renee Boyd
Caroline Doherty
Austin E. Smigel
Western Southwest Sandhills Southeast
Janice King
Bonnie Johnson
Eunice Brown
Tim Beam
Myra Heavner
Kelly W. Price
Dennis Quick
Deidre Gales
Linda Vandevender
Michael R. Dixon
Jada Willoughby-