## **Council on Educational Services for Exceptional Children**

September 13, 2023 Meeting Agenda 9:30 – 3:00 p.m.

TIME	WHO	WHAT	RESULTS		
9:00 – 9:30			Council Information google know or request access)	ion google folder (if you have access difficulty, let Alexis access)	
Alexis Reminders		Reminders	Members are reminded that there is a google folder with things related to Council. You will find the following folders within "Council Information (external)" that all members should have access to.  1. Welcome Information - for those that are new or need a refresher.  2. Annual Reports  3. Council Meeting Agendas - agenda and materials  4. Summary of Actions		
9:30	Chair /	General Business			
	Vice-Chair	<ul> <li>Welcome &amp; Call to Order</li> </ul>	Diane Coffey, C	Christy Hutchinson	
		<ul> <li>Roll Call/Introductions</li> </ul>	Opal Blair	Aimee Combs/Amanda S.	
		*quorum (13)	Joanne S. Caratelli	Megan Parsons	
			Peyton Davis	Matthew Potter	
			Maegen B. Wilson	Linda R. McDonough	
			Abby Childers	Chris Wall	
			Tameeka Williams-Burchette	Sen. Ted Alexander	
			Kristen Hodges	Elizabeth DeBiasi	
			Erin Crites	Rep. Larry Stricland	
			Tifini Ferrell	Chris Wall	
			Pamela Day	Kimaree Sanders	
			Pamela Watkins	Adam Johnson	
			Christy Grant	Kenya Beyah	
			Kelly Kelley	Lisa Phillips	
			Others:		

Ge	eneral Business (cont)  ■ Review and approve agenda	Approve Agenda Diane Coffey, C Opal Blair Joanne S. Caratelli Peyton Davis Maegen B. Wilson Abby Childers Tameeka Williams-Burchette	Christy Hutchinson  Aimee Combs/Amanda S.  Megan Parsons  Matthew Potter  Linda R. McDonough  Chris Wall  Sen. Ted Alexander	
	Review and approve agenda	Opal Blair Joanne S. Caratelli Peyton Davis Maegen B. Wilson Abby Childers Tameeka Williams-Burchette	Aimee Combs/Amanda S.  Megan Parsons  Matthew Potter  Linda R. McDonough  Chris Wall	
		Peyton Davis  Maegen B. Wilson  Abby Childers  Tameeka  Williams-Burchette	Matthew Potter Linda R. McDonough Chris Wall	
		Maegen B. Wilson Abby Childers Tameeka Williams-Burchette	Linda R. McDonough Chris Wall	
		Abby Childers Tameeka Williams-Burchette	Chris Wall	
		Tameeka Williams-Burchette		
		Williams-Burchette	Sen. Ted Alexander	
		I		
		Kristen Hodges	Elizabeth DeBiasi	
		Erin Crites	Rep. Larry Stricland	
		Tifini Ferrell	Chris Wall	
		Pamela Day	Kimaree Sanders	
		Pamela Watkins	Adam Johnson	
		Christy Grant	Kenya Beyah	
		Kelly Kelley	Lisa Phillips	
air / Ol	ld Business	March 2023 Summary of Actions		
e-Chair	<ul> <li>Approval of <u>Summary of Actions</u></li> </ul>	Diane Coffey, C	Christy Hutchinson	
	from March 2023 meeting	Opal Blair	Aimee Combs/Amanda S.	
	<ul> <li>Approval of <u>Summary of Actions</u></li> </ul>	Joanne S. Caratelli	Megan Parsons	
	from June 2023 meeting	Peyton Davis	Matthew Potter	
		Maegen B. Wilson	Linda R. McDonough	
	1	Abby Childers	Chris Wall	
		Tameeka	Sen. Ted Alexander	
on	on the website			
			Elizabeth DeBiasi	
			Rep. Larry Stricland	
			Chris Wall	
		Pamela Day	Kimaree Sanders	
		Pamela Watkins	Adam Johnson	
		Christy Grant	Kenya Beyah	
		Kelly Kelley	Lisa Phillips	
1		June 2023 Summary of Acti	iona	
	ne	Approval of <u>Summary of Actions</u> from June 2023 meeting  *NOTE for OEC staff - these summaries need to be emailed to Kelly Breest to post on the website	Approval of Summary of Actions from June 2023 meeting  *NOTE for OEC staff - these summaries need to be emailed to Kelly Breest to post on the website  *NOTE for OEC staff - these summaries need to be emailed to Kelly Breest to post on the website  Joanne S. Caratelli Peyton Davis  Maegen B. Wilson Abby Childers  Tameeka Williams-Burchette Kristen Hodges Erin Crites Tifini Ferrell Pamela Day Pamela Watkins Christy Grant Kelly Kelley	

			Diane Coffey, C	Christy Hutchinson
			Opal Blair	Aimee Combs/Amanda S.
			Joanne S. Caratelli	Megan Parsons
			Peyton Davis	Matthew Potter
			Maegen B. Wilson	Linda R. McDonough
			Abby Childers	Chris Wall
			Tameeka	Sen. Ted Alexander
			Williams-Burchette	
			Kristen Hodges	Elizabeth DeBiasi
			Erin Crites	Rep. Larry Stricland
			Tifini Ferrell	Chris Wall
			Pamela Day	Kimaree Sanders
			Pamela Watkins	Adam Johnson
			Christy Grant	Kenya Beyah
			Kelly Kelley	Lisa Phillips
9:45	OEC	Item 1: Agency Updates - presentation		
	Leadership	-Enforcement of OSEP corrective action		
		(what are we falling short in). 2023		
		<u>Determination Letters on State</u>		
		Implementation of IDEA.		
		-Fall Conference (registration for council-		
		general conference is "2023GCOFree")		
	Council	Discussion Item 1	Recommendations/Actions	
10.20	Chair	Item 2: New Year Business	1 Now mambars:	
10:30	Chair	item 2: New Year Business	1- New members: Opal Blair, parent	
		1- New Members	Peyton Davis, parent	
		2- Reappointments	Pamela Day, LEA	
		3- Vacancies	raincia Day, LLA	
		4- Council Reminders	2- Legislative Reappointments:	
		- Council Nellinaers	2 Legislative Reappointments.	

		5- Voting	Senator Ted Alexander, Senator Elizabeth DeBiasi, parent Representative Larry Strickland, Representative Chris Wall, parent  3- Vacancy: General Education Administrator  4- Attendance: Regular attendance and participation of all Council members is expected. When a member appointed by the State Board of Education misses two consecutive regular meetings, Council Chair will contact that member to inquire about his/her interest in remaining on Council. When a member who serves by legislative or executive appointment misses a like number of regular meetings without notice, the Council shall request that consideration be given to appointing someone else to fill out the unexpired term of the legislative or executive appointment.  Quorum: at least 13 Council members, not including OEC staff. *Consider moving June to another month or day?  Officers: Chairperson, Vice-Chairperson. Both are 2-year terms and are limited to one term each.  5- Voting: Need to vote for a vice-chair. Christy H. has already served as Vice-chairperson previously, so cannot be elected again.
	Council	Discussion Item 2	Recommendations/Actions
11:00	Council Members	Item 3: <u>Council Orientation</u>	
		Discussion Item 3	Recommendations/Actions
12:30	LUNCH		Meeting link will remain open Participants are welcome to remain in the meeting on mute or they can leave and return a few minutes before 1 to continue with the meeting.

1:00	Chair / Vice-Chair	Public Comment *commenters must be signed-in by 12:30 (virtually or in-person)	No comments	
1:30		Item 4:		
	Council	Discussion Item 4	Recommendations/Actions	
	Chair /	Closing/Adjournment	Diana Caffee C	Christy Hytelian an
	Vice-Chair		Diane Coffey, C	Christy Hutchinson
			Opal Blair	Aimee Combs/Amanda S.
			Joanne S. Caratelli	Megan Parsons
			Peyton Davis	Matthew Potter
			Maegen B. Wilson	Linda R. McDonough
			Abby Childers	Chris Wall
			Tameeka Williams-Burchette	Sen. Ted Alexander
			Kristen Hodges	Elizabeth DeBiasi
			Erin Crites	Rep. Larry Stricland
			Tifini Ferrell	Chris Wall
			Pamela Day	Kimaree Sanders
			Pamela Watkins	Adam Johnson
			Christy Grant	Kenya Beyah
			Kelly Kelley	Lisa Phillips