



2014 Wells Fargo North Carolina Principal of the Year Program



2014 Wells Fargo North Carolina Principal of the Year

DR. CARRIE TULBERT

Mooresville Middle School **Mooresville Graded School District**



2014 Wells Fargo North Carolina **Principals of the Year Team**



Billie Berry

Northeast Regional Principal of the Year

Camden County High School, Camden County Schools

Region 1 – District Winners

Tracey Nixon - P.S. Jones Middle School, Beaufort County Schools LeVar Mizelle - River Road Middle School, Elizabeth City-Pasquotank Public Schools

Melissa Fields - Perquimans Central School, Perquimans County Schools

Mary Anne Wetzel - Manteo Elementary School, Dare County Schools

Lisa Parker - Colerain Elementary School, Bertie County Schools

Jamie Bowers - DF Walker Elementary School, Edenton-Chowan Schools

Daun Belangia - Central Elementary School, Currituck County Schools

Sharon Cherry - Creswell High School, Washington County Schools

Tracy Cole - A.G. Cox Middle School, Pitt County Schools George Stanton Warren - Ahoskie Elementary School, Hertford County Schools

James Guard - Riverside High School, Martin County Schools

Tammi Ward - Gates County High School, Gates County Schools



Frances Herring

Southeast Regional Principal of the Year

Contentnea-Savannah K-8 School, Lenoir County Schools

Region 2 – District Winners

Joseph Poletti - Croatan High School, Carteret County Schools Renee Whitford - James W. Smith Elementary School, Craven County Schools **Ann Hardy** – Warsaw Elementary School, Duplin County Schools Christopher Meadows - Jones Sr. High School, Jones County Public Schools Jakki Jethro – Sunset Park Elementary School, New Hanover County Schools Helen Gross - Carolina Forest Elementary School, Onslow County Schools Sherry Meador - Fred A. Anderson Elementary School, Pamlico County Schools Peter Wildeboer – North Topsail Elementary School, Pender County Schools Sheila Peterson - Roseboro-Salemburg Middle School, Sampson County Schools



Dr. Larry Webb

North Central Regional Principal of the Year

Gary Hales - Wayne School of Engineering, Wayne County Schools

Eaton-Johnson Middle School, Vance County Schools

Region 3 – District Winners

Dr. William Logan – Hillside High School, Durham Public Schools Marc Whichard - SouthWest Edgecombe High School, Edgecombe County Schools Dr. Laverne Daniels - Cedar Creek Middle School, Franklin County Schools Julie Finch – Mary Potter Middle School, Granville County Schools Charles Price - South Johnston High School, Johnston County Schools **Gary Major** – Parker Middle School, Nash-Rocky Mount Schools Mark Savage – Heritage High School, Wake County Schools Roy Henderson – John W. Jones Elementary School, Wilson County Schools



Amy Rickard

Piedmont-Triad/Central Regional Principal of the Year

Morris Grove Elementary School, Chapel Hill-Carrboro City Schools

Region 5 – District Winners

Julie Hancock – Marvin B. Smith Elementary School, Alamance-Burlington Schools Candace Call - North Asheboro Middle School, Asheboro City Schools Nicole Lancaster - Stoney Creek Elementary School, Caswell County Schools Kimberly Taylor – Bonlee School, Chatham County Schools Angie Kiger - North Davison Middle School, Davidson County Schools Ged O'Donnell - Montlieu Academy of Technology, Guilford County Schools Travis Taylor - Lexington Senior High School, Lexington City Schools Edna "Fay" Jones - Grady A. Brown Elementary School, Orange County Schools Veronica Clay - Stories Creek Elementary School, Person County Schools Laurie Sypole – Randleman Elementary School, Randolph County Schools Brenda Nordan - J E Holmes Middle School, Rockingham County Schools Robin Layman - Pinnacle Elementary, Stokes County Schools **Angela Moore** – Thomasville Primary School, Thomasville City Schools Gary Cone - Paisley IB Magnet School, Winston-Salem/Forsyth County Schools



Brad Breedlove

Southwest Regional Principal of the Year

Monroe High School, Union County Schools

Region 6 – District Winners

Kecia Coln – J N Fries Magnet Middle School, Cabarrus County Schools Terry Usery – Tryon Elementary School, Gaston County Schools Rachel Zaionz - Shady Brook Elementary School, Kannapolis City Schools Jennifer Wampler – Bethware Elementary School, Cleveland County Schools David Switzer – Ardrey Kell High School, Charlotte-Mecklenburg Schools **Deborah Davis** – Anson County Early College, Anson County Schools Melanie Huss - F.D. "Jack" Kiser Intermediate School, Lincoln County Schools Shawn Britt - South Stanly High School, Stanly County Schools



Dr. Carrie Tulbert

Northwest Regional Principal of the Year

Mooresville Middle School, Mooresville Graded School District

Region 7 – District Winners

Dr. Chad Maynor – West Alexander Middle School, Alexander County Schools Janice Linker – Glade Creek Elementary School, Alleghany County Schools David Blackburn - Mountain View Elementary School, Ashe County Schools Matthew Bentley - Cranberry Middle School, Avery County Schools Kathy Amos – Patton High School, Burke County Schools Julia Knight – Davenport A+ Elementary School, Caldwell County Schools Heather Benfield – Challenger Early College High School, Catawba County Schools Joy Morrison - Pinebrook Elementary School, Davie County Schools Jeffrey Hodakowski – Viewmont Elementary School, Hickory City Schools Jonathan Ribbeck - Celeste Elementary School, Iredell-Statesville Schools Jason Dorsett - Jones Intermediate School, Mount Airy City Schools Kevin Campbell – Newton-Conover High School, Newton-Conover City Schools Laura Kerr - Rockwell Elementary School, Rowan-Salisbury Schools Celia Hodges - Surry Central High School, Surry County Schools **Toby Cone** – Cove Creek Elementary School, Watauga County Schools J. David Johnson - North Wilkes Middle School, Wilkes County Schools Christopher Nichols - Forbush High School, Yadkin County Schools



Robin Calcutt

Sandhills/South Central Regional Principal of the Year

New Century Middle School, Moore County Schools

Region 4 – District Winners

Kim Gray - Don D. Steed Elementary School, Hoke County Schools Beth Lancaster - Mt. Gilead Elementary School, Montgomery County Schools James Butler - Hamlet Middle School, Richmond County Schools Jesse Beck, II – South Columbus High School, Columbus County Schools Karen Brooks-Floyd - Red Springs Middle School, Public Schools of Robeson County Joseph Critcher – Scotland High School Early College, Scotland County Schools Amy Lundy – Deep River Elementary School, Lee County Schools Mellotta Hill – Howard Hall Elementary School, Cumberland County Schools Christopher Mace – Harnett Central High School, Harnett County Schools Reida Roberts – Bladen Lakes Primary School, Bladen County Schools



Brad Richardson

Western Regional Principal of the Year Forest City-Dunbar Elementary School, Rutherford County Schools

Region 8 – District Winners

Kerry Putnam - Brevard Middle School, Transylvania County Schools Kent Parent – Balfour Education Center, Henderson County Public Schools Shirley Parks – East Franklin Elementary School, Macon County Schools **Colby Calhoun** – Gouge Elementary School, Mitchell County Schools Thomas Graham - Hiwassee Dam High School, Cherokee County Schools **Andrew Peoples** – North Buncombe Elementary School, Buncombe County Schools Jason Watson – Blue Ridge Early College, Jackson County Public Schools **Kevin Huskins** – Mountain Heritage High School, Yancey County Schools **Donna Gardner** – West McDowell Junior High School, McDowell County Schools **Heather Hollingsworth** – Jonathan Valley Elementary, Haywood County Schools Carrie Allen – Vance Elementary School, Asheville City Schools

David Robinson – Madison Early College High School, Madison County Schools