2017-18 Highly Qualified NC Teaching Graduates

Please see additional budget information posted on the NCDPI Financial and Business Services Division website at www.ncpublicschools.org/fbs/budget/. This document will be updated as additional questions are received.

A. LEGISLATION

Session Law 2017-57 8.2 Bonus for Highly Qualified NC Teaching Graduates \$700,000 (R) Following is a summary of the special provision

Highly qualified

- New teacher
- Graduate from an approved educator preparation program located in NC.
- GPA of 3.75 or higher and a score of 48 or higher on the edTPA or equivalent assessment.

01/03/2018

- Graduated with a GPA of 3.75 or higher and meet a certain score on edTPA or PPAT assessments:
 - A score of 42 or higher for the World Languages and Classical Languages edTPA assessments (those with 13 rubrics)
 - A score of 57 or higher for the Elementary Education edTPA assessment (those with 18 rubrics)
 - o A score of 48 or higher for all other edTPA assessments (those with 15 rubrics)
 - o A score of 44 or higher for the PPAT assessment
 - o In all cases, these assessments must be nationally scored. Local scoring will not be accepted

A highly qualified graduate is paid a monthly supplement of the equivalent of the difference in salary of a Bachelor level teacher with zero years of experience and

- 3 years of experience, if teaching in a low performing school for the first 3 years of employment.
- 2 years of experience, if licensed and teaching in EC, science, technology, engineering or mathematics for the first 2 years of employment.
- 1 year of experience, for all others for the first year of employment.

B. DETERMINING A HIGHLY QUALIFIED TEACHER

1. What source of documentation is needed to verify the eligibility of the teacher?

LEAs will need to have a transcript showing the GPA of the Bachelors attained from the educator preparation program AND an official record of the edTPA score or PPAT. For questions please contact Andrew Sioberg AndrewSioberg@dpi.nc.gov

2. 01/03/2018 8/23/2017 Can you explain edTPA and PPAT scoring and equivalent scores?

The most recent legislation was only specific about a cut score of 48 or higher on the edTPA to be considered HQ. Unfortunately this did not take into consideration the fact that there are different scoring ranges depending on the subject being assessed. While nearly all subjects are assessed using 15 rubrics, Elementary Education is assessed on 18 rubrics and World Languages and Classical Languages are assessed on 13 rubrics. This difference in the number of rubrics being used necessitates a different score for the HQ designation. Additionally, a comparable score will need to be developed for the PPAT assessment.

Processes are underway at the Department to get clarity on fair and equivalent scores across all of these assessments. We anticipate a presentation to the North Carolina Board of Education on this topic in the beginning of October and hope to get a vote at that same time. We will update this page as soon as the board makes a decision on this matter.

A General Assembly technical correction provided clarity.

3. Are teachers who went to college out of state eligible?

Only teachers who graduated from a North Carolina educator preparation program are eligible. A list of the eligible programs is located at http://www.ncpublicschools.org/ihe/approved/

4. Are instructional support personnel eligible for the supplements?

No, only classroom teachers are eligible for the supplement

5. Our LEA hired teachers last year who would meet the qualifications in Questions 1 & 2, can we pay them the supplement?

No, only teachers who are new to teaching. The first day of employment in teaching is on or after July 1, 2017.

6. Our LEA hired a teacher in March of 2017 who meet the qualifications in Q1 & 2, and they are still paid at a A00 because they did not have the experience to get bumped - are they eligible to be paid the salary supplement?

No, the law requires that, to be eligible, they must enter the teaching profession in 2017-18. This individual entered the profession in 2016-17, which excludes them from the supplement.

7. Our LEA hired a teacher in January 2018, if the teacher eligible to be considered for the supplement?

Yes, if the teacher meets the qualifications in Q 1 & 2 and this is their first teaching job, they are eligible.

C. TEACHING ASSIGNMENT

a. Low Performing School

Legislation

A graduate accepts initial employment at a school identified as low-performing by the State Board of Education pursuant to G.S. 115C-105.37 shall receive a salary supplement during the graduate's first three years of employment as a teacher, without a break in service, equivalent to the difference between the State-funded salary of the graduate and the State-funded salary of a similarly situated teacher with three years of experience on the "A" Teachers salary schedule, as long as the graduate (i) remains teaching at the same school or (ii) accepts subsequent employment at another low-performing school or local school administrative unit identified as low-performing.

8. What year do we use to determine the low performing schools?

The low performing schools that are designated by the SBE from the 2015-16 or the 2016-17 Accountability results shall be used.

A list of these schools for 2015-16 is located at http://www.ncpublicschools.org/fbs/finance/salary/

Highly Qualified Teaching Graduates Excel file - 2015-16 Low Performing Schools/Districts Tab "Low-Performing Schools 15-16"

The 2016-17 list will be posted when the accountability results are approved.

- 9. What if the school is no longer low performing based on future accountability results. The teacher will remain eligible for the supplement as long as they remain in the school, without a break in service, for up to three years.
- 10. Due to this financial incentive, we have a teacher who would like to transfer to a low performing school. We can accommodate this in January, 2018. Are they eligible to receive an increase in the supplement by doing so?

No, the legislation states that the teacher must accept <u>initial employment</u> at the low performing school. This teacher accepted initial employment at a school that was not low performing and therefore, is not eligible for the higher supplement. They may still receive the one or two step supplements as described below.

11. We have a teacher who wants to leave the low performing school at which they were initially employed. How can they remain still eligible for the supplement?

The teacher may leave the low performing school, but in order to be eligible for the 3 step supplement, they must either teach in another low performing school OR teach at any school in a LEA that is designated as low performing. The low performing districts shall be designated based on the 2016-17 accountability results.

12. If a teacher is initially employed in a low performing district, but the school they are employed in is NOT low performing, are they eligible for the 3 step supplement?

No, the teacher is not eligible for the 3 step supplement if this was their initial employment. However if they were initially in a low performing school and then moved to a non low performing school located in a low performing district they may continue to receive the 3 step supplement.

13. How many years is the teacher eligible for the supplement?

For 3 years, effective the first day of employment.

14. What happens if there is a break in service?

The teacher is no longer eligible to receive the supplement if they return to employment.

b. STEM or EC Assignment

A graduate licensed and employed to teach in the areas of special education, science, technology, engineering, or mathematics shall receive a salary supplement during the graduate's <u>first two years of employment</u> as a teacher, without a break in service, equivalent to the difference between the State-funded salary of the graduate and the State-funded salary of a similarly situated teacher with <u>two years of experience</u> on the "A" Teachers salary schedule, as long as the graduate continues teaching in one of those areas.

15. What license areas and course codes are eligible for this supplement?

A list of the license areas and associated course codes are listed at from http://www.ncpublicschools.org/fbs/finance/salary/

16. How many years is the teacher eligible for the supplement?

For 2 years, effective the first day of employment.

17. What happens if there is a break in service?

The teacher is no longer eligible to receive the supplement if they return to employment.

18. Is a teacher who is lateral entry in the STEM or EC areas eligible?

No, the teacher must have graduated from a NC Educator prep program.

19. Are teachers who were employed in 2016-17 eligible for the supplement?

No, the teacher must be entering in to the teaching profession as a certified teacher in 2017-18 (on or after July 1, 2017).

20. We have a HQ teacher who graduated with an elementary ed license, we want to move him in to an EC class. If he gets a provisional license is he eligible for the supplement?

No, teachers with provisional license in the EC area (or STEM if they are teaching in STEM) are not eligible.

c. All other assignments

All other graduates (HQ Teachers who are not assigned to low performing schools or licensed in and teach STEM or EC) shall receive a salary supplement during the graduate's first year of employment as a teacher, without a break in service, equivalent to the difference between the State-funded salary of the graduate and the State-funded salary of a similarly situated teacher with one year of experience on the "A" Teachers salary schedule.

21. How many years is the teacher eligible for the supplement?

For 1 years, effective the first day of employment.

22. What happens if there is a break in service?

The teacher is no longer eligible to receive the supplement if they return to employment.

23. Are teachers who were employed in 2016-17 eligible for the supplement?

No, the teacher must be entering in to the teaching profession as a certified teacher in 2017-18 (on or after July 1, 2017).

D. CALCULATING AND CODING THE SUPPLEMENT

24. Are State funded teachers only covered by the state funds?

Yes, only teachers whose salaries are funded from state funds are eligible to receive a state funded HQ supplement.

25. Are locally and federally funded teachers funded by the state funds or does the supplement have to be funded from the same source of funds as the certified rate? The supplement must be funded from the same source of funds as the certified rate.

the State Budget Act in <u>G.S. 143C-6-6(b)</u> essentially says that any salary, retirement/health, or death/disability adjustments are funded from the source of funds supporting the position.

26. How do we calculate the supplement?

The legislation states that the teacher is eligible for a supplement calculated as the difference between state funded salary of the graduate and a similarly situated teacher with 3 years of experience on the "A" Teacher salary schedule.

Following is a chart of the Bachelor level teacher schedule "A"

Years	Monthly		
	Amount		
0	\$3,500		
1	\$3,600		
2	\$3,630		
3	\$3,730		

Following is a chart of the monthly state salary the HQ teacher with zero years of experience is to be paid dependent on the assignment of the teacher.

New Teacher	Monthly	Supplement	% supplement
	certified	Amount	
Non HQ	\$3,500		
HQ- Low performing school	\$3,730	\$230	6.6%
HQ STEM/EC	\$3,630	\$130	3.7%
HQ-Other	\$3,600	\$100	2.9%

27. One of our graduates has a year of experience on her license from being a teacher assistant, but they have never taught as a certified teacher. Are they eligible and if so, at what supplement?

Yes they are eligible. They are paid the supplement as follows

New Teacher	Monthly certified	Supplement Amount	% supplement
1 st year teacher	\$3,600		
HQ- Low performing school	\$3,730	\$130	3.6%
HQ STEM/EC	\$3,630	\$30	0.8%
HQ-Other	\$3,600	\$0	0%

28. Is the supplement subject to retirement

Yes.

29. How do the LEAs code the supplement?

The supplement must be coded in PRC 028 with the same purpose code used for the certified rate.

 $\begin{array}{lll} \text{Supplement} & \text{Purpose code} - 028 - 181 \\ \text{Social Security} & \text{Purpose code} - 028 - 211 \\ \text{Retirement} & \text{Purpose code} - 028 - 221 \end{array}$

PRC028 must be used for the supplement ONLY ie. The certified salary should be coded to the regular State PRCs (032, 001, 031 etc)