

WELLCOME 2016 North Carolina Teacher of the Year

BOBBIE J. CAVNAR

Southwest Region • South Point High • Gaston County Schools • 9-12 English and Journalism

Southwest Region – District Winners

Lisa Austen – Sandy Ridge Elementary, Union County Schools Kelly Bumgardner – Northwest Cabarrus Middle, Cabarrus County Schools Joyce Davenport – Anson High, Anson County Schools Matthew Dukes - River Gate Elementary, Charlotte-Mecklenburg School Nancy Goodnight - Millbridge Elementary, Rowan-Salisbury Schools Ashley Hooks – Springmore Elementary, Cleveland County Schools

Jacquelyn Lane – Jackson Park Elementary, Kannapolis City Schools Brooke McCurdy - Collaborative College Technology and Leadership, Iredell-Statesville Schools Serenity Smith – Stanly Early College High, Stanly County Schools Allen Stevens - Mooresville Middle, Mooresville Graded School District



Marie Smith | Northeast Region Teacher of the Year **Conway Middle, Northampton County Schools**

Northeast Region – District Winners

Stephanie Ambrose – Weeksville Elementary, Elizabeth City-Pasquotank Public Schools Melissa Boyd – Bath Elementary, Beaufort County Schools Laurie Brooks – John A. Holmes High, Edenton-Chowan Schools Kathryn Cargile – Hope Middle, Pitt County Schools **Pamela Djigounian** – Camden Middle, Camden County Schools **Tonya Hedgepeth** – Pittman Elementary, Halifax County Schools Mollee Holloman – Manteo Elementary, Dare County Schools Patrick Quast – Chaloner Middle, Roanoke Rapids Graded Schools Anissa Robinson – Weldon Elementary, Weldon City Schools Paige Smith – Mattamuskeet Elementary, Hyde County Schools Kristin Stahl – East End Elementary, Martin County Schools Erika Stephenson – Hertford County Middle, Hertford County Public Schools **Christy Stevens** – Gatesville Elementary, Gates County Schools Kortney Watford – Windsor Elementary, Bertie County Schools Angel White - Perquimans County High, Perquimans County Schools



Katie Snyder | Southeast Region Teacher of the Year John T. Hoggard High, New Hanover County Schools

Southeast Region – District Winners

Stephanie Edwards – Brinson Memorial Elementary, Craven County Schools Mary Hudson – Cape Fear Elementary, Pender County Schools Jeri (Denise) Humphries – Chinquapin Elementary, Duplin County Schools **Angela Joyner** – Grantham Middle, Wayne County Public Schools Erik Matticola – Swansboro High, Onslow County Schools **Thomas B. "Brad" Robinson** – Croatan High, Carteret County Public Schools Melvin Smith, Jr. – Jones Sr. High, Jones County Schools Laura Sokol-Scott – Leland Middle, Brunswick County Schools Christine Wayne – Pamlico County High, Pamlico County Schools Amy White – Contentnea-Savannah K-8, Lenoir County Schools



Kevin Scharen | Piedmont-Triad Region Teacher of the Year Alamance-Burlington Early College at ACC, **Alamance-Burlington School System**

Piedmont-Triad Region – District Winners

Tonya Baity – Tyro Elementary, Davidson County Schools Yancy Burklow – Boonville Elementary, Yadkin County Schools Bronson Ericksen – Elkin Middle, Elkin City Schools Fanisha Fuller – Oak Hill Elementary, Guilford County Schools Joy Harman – Southwest Elementary, Lexington City Schools **David Koontz** – Davie County High, Davie County Schools Sara "Katie" Lemons - South Stokes High, Stokes County Schools Shelli Owens – Mount Airy Middle, Mount Airy City Schools Marcy Piotrowski – South End Elementary, Rockingham County Schools **Claudia Rodriguez** – North Asheboro Middle, Asheboro City Schools Charity Sutphin - Parkland High, Winston-Salem/Forsyth County Schools Sarah Wood – Liberty Drive Elementary, Thomasville City Schools



Leah Hayes | Northwest Region Teacher of the Year South Newton Elementary, **Newton-Conover City Schools**

Northwest Region – District Winners

John Ballard – West McDowell Middle, McDowell County Schools Dr. Deanna Berrier – Traphill Elementary, Wilkes County Schools Linda Chandler – Liberty Middle, Burke County Public Schools Michelle Dellinger – Avery County High, Avery County Schools Jeanna Goodson – Maiden High, Catawba County Schools Jordan Hefner – Stony Point Elementary, Alexander County Schools Kelly Lambert – Mountain View Elementary, Ashe County Schools **Melissa McKinnon** – Grandview Middle, Hickory Public Schools Misty McKnight – Sparta Elementary, Alleghany County Schools Linda Pitman – Mitchell High, Mitchell County Schools Randall (Randy) Seldomridge – Granite Falls Middle, Caldwell County Schools Allison Sparks – Bethel Elementary, Watauga County Schools



Margaret C. McNeill | North Central Region Teacher of the Year Dunn Middle, Harnett County Schools

North Central Region – District Winners

Benita Arrington – Laurel Mill Elementary, Franklin County Schools Wendy Bryant Motley – Broadway Elementary, Lee County Schools



Angel Ledbetter | Western Region Teacher of the Year **Rutherford Early College High, Rutherford County Schools**

Western Region – District Winners

Pamela Arrowood – Polk County High, Polk County Schools

Charlene Burroughs – Granville Central High, Granville County Schools Leslie Burwell – Northwood High, Chatham County Schools James Guy – Edgecombe Early College, Edgecombe County Public Schools **Cynthia Hutchings** – Smithfield Selma High, Johnston County Schools Michelle Jackson – Coopers Elementary, Nash-Rocky Mount Public Schools Michael Jones – Culbreth Middle, Chapel Hill-Carrboro City Schools Lori Khan – Middle College High @ DTCC, Durham Public Schools Laura Nelson – Margaret Hearne Elementary, Wilson County Schools Matthew Scialdone – Middle Creek High. Wake County Public School System **Erin Simons** – Vaughan Elementary, Warren County Schools Elizabeth Sinnott – South Elementary, Person County Schools Julie White – Gravelly Hill Middle, Orange County Schools Nicole Williamson – Eastern North Carolina School for the Deaf, State Operated Program Robin Wilson – New Hope Elementary, Vance County Schools

Andrea Chalker – Highlands, Macon County Schools Ray Crawford – Fairview School, Jackson County Public Schools Brian Gonzales – Clyde A. Erwin High, Buncombe County Schools **Amy Harrington** – Bethel Middle, Haywood County Schools Laura Jane Howald – Asheville City Preschool, Asheville City Schools Julie Hughes – Murphy Middle, Cherokee County Schools Brandon Rice – Madison High, Madison County Schools **Jennifer Sensabaugh** – Brevard Middle, Transylvania County Schools Amy Shelton – Hayesville Elementary, Clay County Schools Misty Shope - Robbinsville Middle, Graham County Schools

Brandon Brown Charter Schools Teacher of the Year

Lake Norman Charter, Huntersville, NC



Olivia W. Hall | Sandhills Region Teacher of the Year **Roseboro-Salemburg Middle, Sampson County Schools**

Sandhills Region – District Winners

Ashlee Garrison – New Century International Elementary, Cumberland County Schools Jennifer Hair – East Bladen High, Bladen County Schools Wenona Mishue – Spring Hill Middle, Scotland County Schools Trina Osborne – Central Middle, Whiteville City Schools **LaTanya Pattillo** – East Columbus High, Columbus County Schools Morina Ricablanca – East Hoke Middle, Hoke County Schools Leonardo Romero – Rex-Rennert Elementary, Public Schools of Robeson County Sandra Starling – L.C. Kerr Elementary, Clinton City Schools Sarah Talbert – East Montgomery High, Montgomery County Schools Valeria "Joy" Watson – East Rockingham Elementary, Richmond County Schools Ashley Williams – Sandhills Farm Life Elementary, Moore County Schools



Charter Schools – District Winners

Ken Boyer – Voyager Academy Charissa Denny – Roxboro Community Chanda Foxx Allen - Chatham Charter Carl Harrington – East Wake Academy **Ellen Hotaling** – Invest Collegiate Elizabeth Kay Salema – Socrates Academy



PUBLIC SCHOOLS OF NORTH CAROLINA State Board of Education | Department of Public Instruction