Financial and Business Services Conference

July 25, 2024

Thomas Tomberlin Senior Director Educator Preparation, Licensure & Performance





LICN-005 (Licensure Renewal Requirements)

- Updating Terminology/Clarity
- License Validation
- Continuing Education Unit Update
- North Carolina Retired Employees

License Validation

- Educators with an expired CPL may be eligible for a three-year validation.
 - Educator must complete CEU requirements within the three-year term of the validated license
 - Validation is not an option for currently employed educators who have not met renewal requirements
 - Validation is not an option for educators who were employed in a PSU in the fiscal year prior to application.

License Renewal

- Digital Learning Competencies no longer a separate CEU category. DLCs must be required by PSU if include pedagogy on DLCs or related to general or content-specific CEUs.
- For PK-5 educators, DLCs are reclassified as general CEUs
- For 6-12, Instructional Support, and Administrative licenses, the two DLCs have been reassigned to content-specific (1 CEU) and general credits (1 CEU)

Retired License/Lifetime License

- NC State Board has discontinued the Retirement License.
- Eligibility for lifetime license:
 - 30 years of service in NC public schools
 - Holding a current educator license and 30 years of service credit in TSERS. Employee must provide documentation of retirement service credit (e.g., ORBIT)
- Retired (or no longer employed with NCPSU) employees who do not meet the qualifications for a lifetime license may renew their licenses per the standard renewal requirements.

LICN-001

Out-of-State Licensure Applicants

Limited Licenses

Out-of-State Licensure Applicants

- Applicant must document that he/she has completed an educator preparation program approved by the State in which the program resides.
 - "Reciprocity" always refers to preparation, not the license.
 - Comparable testing means the teacher completed testing requirements in the state in which the license was issued. Special conditions for Elementary Ed and ECGC.
- Out-of-state teachers with 3+ years of teaching experience no longer need effectiveness data to qualify for a CPL in NC.

Limited Licenses

- Limited licenses are now renewable past the first 3-year term.
 - Employing PSU must (re)affirm the effectiveness of the teacher as a condition of renewal
 - If the teacher has EVAAS data, the teacher's average EVAAS index scores (over the period of the limited license) must be at the meets or exceeds expected growth level.
 - The years of EVAAS growth data used in the average may differ depending on the date of the renewal application.
- A teacher is eligible for one limited license and that license is only good in the district which requested the license.

State of the Teaching Profession Report

- State Attrition Rate
- Defining Vacancies
- SoTP Dashboard

State Attrition Rate

- The overall state attrition rate for 2022-2023 is 11.45%. A 3.67 percentage point increase from 7.78% in the 2021-22 analysis and a 3.25 percentage point increase from 8.20% in the 2020-21 analysis.
- Vacancy: a teaching position in an LEA that is not filled by an educator who holds a qualifying license. North Carolina state statute identifies a qualifying license as a continuing professional license (CPL), initial professional license (IPL), residency license (RL), or a limited license. Teachers holding provisional licenses (who work most of their day in the provisionally licensed area) or temporary licenses (permit to teach or emergency license) are not considered to be filling a vacancy. Additionally, rehired retirees (regardless of license status) are not considered to be filling a vacancy due to the limited work hours and/or limited duration that they can work (and not jeopardize their retirement status).
- Appendices are now reported on a public dashboard <u>https://go.ncdpi.gov/34mpu</u>

Licensure Suspension and Revocation

- EVAL-014 Code of Ethics for NC Educators
- LICN-007 Licensure Suspension and Revocation
- EVAL-035 Standards of Professional Conduct

EVAL-014

- EVAL-014 updates code of ethics for NC educators and defines Standards of Professional Conduct.
 - Defines educator actions outside of "appropriate".
 - Language related to the receipt of gifts that might influence or appear to influence professional decisions
 - Specific guidelines for administrators

LICN-007

- Updated definitions of key terms
- Superintendent of NC Department of Public Instruction (NCDPI) is authorized to investigate allegations of misconduct for license holders or applicants.
- Superintendent of NCDPI may impose disciplinary sanctions for violations
- Types of disciplinary sanctions defined
- Process for revoking, surrendering, or reinstating a license
- Reporting requirements for PSU Administrators

EVAL-035

- Largely unchanged except for the elimination of the Personal Conduct standard and subsequent renumbering of the standards.
- In lieu of the Personal Conduct standard is a statement at the end of the policy referencing a NC Supreme Court decision on whether educators should be held to a higher standard of personal conduct.

Principal Portfolio-Based Assessment

SBE selection of proposed assessment

Principal Portfolio-Based Assessment

- NC state statute requires a portfolio-based assessment as a condition of principal licensure.
- PEPSC has recommended that the SBE adopt the assessment used by California for licensing administrators (CAL-APA)
- CAL-APA must be modified to reflect the NC context and language. New assessment will be renamed to NCPPA.
- Taking the NCPPA will be a condition of licensure for all principal licensure applicants who have not completed at least one course toward a program by August 31, 2024.

PEPSC Recommendations to SBE

- Preservice Training for RL and temporary licensed Teachers
- GPA Calculation for EPP admission
- Praxis CORE requirement for EPP admission

Preservice Training

- NC statue requires 10 hours of field experience for RLs prior to entering classroom. PEPSC recommends three hours prior to entering with remaining 7 hours completed in first year.
- All RL and temporary-licensed educators should receive 8 hours of instruction on 1) Evidence-based practices, 2) Whole School/Community/Child model, 3) positive student behavior management, and 4) state-required trainings
- Other EPP content and pedagogy requirements for educator preparation.

GPA Calculation

- Recommends the calculation of GPA for EPP admission be calculated from at least 18 semester hours in content related to the area of licensure.
- EPPs have the flexibility to determine the allowable content coursework for calculation.
- EPPs may consider content coursework from any official transcript.
- Prospective candidates who lack the required GPA can remediate the GPA with content-related coursework.

Praxis Core for admission to EPP

- PEPSC recommends the removal of the Praxis Core or any other equivalent assessment as a requirement for admission to a teacher preparation program.
- The Praxis Core is only required for traditional pathway candidates (not residency license).
- The Praxis Core does not correlate with outcomes associated with effective teaching but does correlate with passing content licensure exams.
- This is not a policy recommendation but a legislative request.