Council on Educational Services for Exceptional Children

December 13, 2023 Meeting Agenda 9:30 – 3:00 p.m.

Meeting Link: https://ncgov.webex.com/ncgov/j.php?MTID=mf2e5b0b42a57d9a123e6f9ecbf084bed

Meeting Number: 2422 666 8979 Meeting Password: 8ZCunB5DhM5

TIME	WHO	WHAT	RESULTS			
9:00		Virtual Meeting Logistics	Council Information Google folder (if you have access difficulty,			
_		Audio/Visual	please let Polly Lilly know or request access.)			
9:30		Checks				
		Reminders	Members are reminded that there is a Google folder with information related to Council. You will find the following folders within "Council Information (external)" that all members should have access to. 1. Welcome Information - for those that are new or need a refresher. 2. Annual Reports 3. Council Meeting Agendas - agenda and materials 4. Summary of Actions Please review membership information to ensure your email address is current and included. Please inform Polly Lilly of any changes:			
9:30	Chair /	General Business	and moradout ricade information only and or any or any or any			
	Vice-	Welcome & Call	Name	Attendance	Name	Attendance
	Chair	to Order	Diane Coffey, C	710001100	Christy Hutchinson	
		• Roll	Opal Blair		Aimee Combs/Amanda S.	
		Call/Introductions	Joanne S. Caratelli		Megan Parsons	
		(quorum 13)	Peyton Davis		Matthew Potter	
			Maegen B. Wilson		Linda R. McDonough	
			Abby Childers		Chris Wall	
			Tameeka Williams- Burchette		Sen. Ted Alexander	
			Kristen Hodges		Elizabeth DeBiasi	
			Erin Crites		Rep. Larry Strickland	
			Tifini Ferrell		Chris Wall	
			Pamela Day		Kimaree Sanders	
			Pamela Watkins		Adam Johnson	
			Christy Grant		Kenya Beyah	
			Kelly Kelley		Lisa Phillips- alts present	
			Others:			

TIME	WHO	WHAT	RESULTS				
	Chair /	General Business	Approval of Agenda				
	Vice-	(continued)	Name	Vote	Name	Vote	
	Chair	 Review and 	Diane Coffey, C		Christy Hutchinson		
		approve agenda	Opal Blair		Aimee Combs/Amanda S.		
		Summary of	Joanne S. Caratelli		Megan Parsons		
		actions for	Peyton Davis		Matthew Potter		
		September to	Maegen B. Wilson		Linda R. McDonough		
		approve - have a	Abby Childers		Chris Wall		
		quorum Move to approve	Tameeka Williams- Burchette		Sen. Ted Alexander		
			Kristen Hodges		Elizabeth DeBiasi		
			Erin Crites		Rep. Larry Strickland		
			Tifini Ferrell		Chris Wall		
			Pamela Day		Kimaree Sanders		
			Pamela Watkins		Adam Johnson		
			Christy Grant		Kenya Beyah		
			Kelly Kelley		Lisa Phillips		
	Chair /	Approval of the	September 2023 Summary of Actions				
	Vice-	September SOA	Name	Vote	Name	Vote	
	Chair		Diane Coffey, C		Christy Hutchinson		
			Opal Blair		Aimee Combs/Amanda S.		
			Joanne S. Caratelli		Megan Parsons		
			Peyton Davis		Matthew Potter		
			Maegen B. Wilson		Linda R. McDonough		
			Abby Childers		Chris Wall		
			Tameeka Williams- Burchette		Sen. Ted Alexander		
			Kristen Hodges		Elizabeth DeBiasi		
			Erin Crites		Rep. Larry Strickland		
			Tifini Ferrell		Chris Wall		
			Pamela Day		Kimaree Sanders		
			Pamela Watkins		Adam Johnson		
			Christy Grant		Kenya Beyah		
			Kelly Kelley		Lisa Phillips		

TIME	WHO	WHAT	RESULTS
9:45	OEC Leaders hip	Item 1: Agency Updates - Dr. Carol Ann Hudgens Update on vacant Office of Exceptional Children (OEC) positions - Assistant Director and Parent Liaison. Rules update. Parent's Bill of Rights: New information expected January 2024.	
	Council	Discussion Item 1:	Recommendations/Actions:
10:30	Chair	Item 2: End-of-Year Dispute Resolution and Indicator 11 data review - Leigh Mobley, Section Chief Indicator 11 - 90- day timeline data. Discussion: Potential barriers to meeting the timeline - Continued COVID recovery, staff shortages. Current trends in state complaints.	
	Council	Discussion Item 2:	Recommendations/Actions:
11:30	Chair / Vice- Chair	Public Comment *Commenters must be signed-in by 10:30 (virtually or in-person).	

TIME	WHO	WHAT	RESULTS			
	Chair /	Closing/Adjournment				
	Vice-		Name	Vote	Name	Vote
	Chair		Diane Coffey, C		Christy Hutchinson	
			Opal Blair		Aimee Combs/Amanda S.	
			Joanne S. Caratelli		Megan Parsons	
			Peyton Davis		Matthew Potter	
			Maegen B. Wilson		Linda R. McDonough	
			Abby Childers		Chris Wall	
			Tameeka Williams-		Sen. Ted Alexander	
			Burchette			
			Kristen Hodges		Elizabeth DeBiasi	
			Erin Crites		Rep. Larry Strickland	
			Tifini Ferrell		Chris Wall	
			Pamela Day		Kimaree Sanders	
			Pamela Watkins		Adam Johnson	
			Christy Grant		Kenya Beyah	
			Kelly Kelley		Lisa Phillips	